top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureColin Doonan

Surviving COVID-19 Times

Through the past seven months, high school teenagers everywhere have been constantly adapting to the ever-changing world around them. The unpredictability of what new challenge we may end up facing tomorrow has seemingly lost any novelty, as most news is reacted to with a remark such as, "Well, it's 2020 after all." However, some people have not had a relaxing time in quarantine, with many people stressed out and anxious about what is to come for our new world indoors. Many people, myself included, have discovered new hobbies to help quell the boredom of being cooped up indoors all day. I have taken a new liking to listening to music on vinyl on my new record player. Whether it is new music from my favorite artist, Kanye West, or older music from bands like The Velvet Underground, the experience of having music in physical format is a rarity in today's day and age. However, on the occasion I can leave my house, driving through the nearby Santiago Canyon is a fun activity that allows me to experience nature and clear my head from all of the craziness that the world has thrown my way over the past few months. I received my car just before quarantine began, and had to learn to drive it, as it is a stick-shift, and Santiago Canyon was the first drive I took when I was confident enough to drive the car by myself. On weekends, since every day has felt like the weekend, not much is different, although recently, I have been able to spend my weekends watching college football on Saturdays and the NFL on Sundays. If I am feeling lonely, I might FaceTime my grandparents, as they are who I normally visit since they live close by. Unfortunately, FaceTime does not match the feeling of seeing loved ones in person. I miss being able to give hugs and show things to relatives in person. Hopefully, things will be back to normal soon.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page